Committees‎ > ‎


From the Recognition Committee:

Each year the CACRAO membership has the opportunity to recognize those who have given much of their time, energy and talent to CACRAO, its member institutions, and the students we serve.  Awards are presented at the Annual Conference held in December.  Members may be recognized with Honorary Membership, the Award of Excellence and the Charlie Hendricks Award.  Below are brief descriptions of each award.

Honorary Membership is given to someone who has been a member of CACRAO for at least 10 years and has made distinctive contributions to the association and its members through service as an officer, committee member, or participant in the profession. At the time of the election, the nominee has retired or left the profession or officially announced his/her intent to do so.

Award of Excellence is given to members who have made significant contributions to CACRAO, its member institutions, and higher education in the Carolinas. 

The Charlie Hendricks Award was established in 1995 in honor of Charlie Hendricks who gave so much to CACRAO. The award recognizes individuals who go beyond the call of duty for CACRAO. They are always willing to volunteer, accept the jobs no one else wants, and rarely get credit for the work they do. 

Please help CACRAO honor the most deserving recipients by submitting the recognition and award nomination form linked below. The nominator will provide a written paragraph as to why this individual should be selected for the award. I will email all nominees for awards to obtain resumes/qualifications to assist the committee in the selection process. Nominations are due Friday, November 11. 

In addition, if you know of someone who has retired, we would like to announce retirements and deaths as well.  Please email me at with any announcements for our Annual Conference.      

2016 Chair

Pressley Denado Dickson
Associate Director I Admissions and Recruitment
P: 803.605.1332

 Contact Chair for details

Last Year's Award Winners:  

Award of Excellence 2015: Amelia Martin

Charlie Hendrix Award 2015: Kristin Allen

Honorary Membership 2015: Jan Jordan

Honorary Membership 2015: Dorinda Harmon

Nomination Form
See Committee Procedures for more details